Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Brick City Grille Review

My Dearest Brick City Grille,

Happy New Year! It has been almost a week since my family visited your establishment....and yet I still feel the need to write what exactly I think and know of you.

Let's just cut to the chase. Mrs. Brick City Grille...you are rude and one of the most arrogant people I have ever met. My family or I will not be back. (I am sure no love loss there for you either).

I called around 4:30pm on New Year's Eve and made a reservation by phone for 5:45pm. I was told reservations were strongly suggested and it wouldn't be a problem. We arrived around 5:30 and was sat fairly fast after there was a bit of confusion about our reservation. Luckily for us there was plenty of tables available.

We decided to try your establishment because I had won a $50.00 gift certificate. We were celebrating the New Year with our two little boys and planned a night going to see The Wizard Of Oz.

This is when your rude remarks started.

My husband went to the front and asked for a crayon. GASP Yes a crayon. You flippantly stated that you were not expecting or planning on any kids here tonight. Excuse me??? Some people celebrate the New Year as a family. After all, your website states "Whether you bring your family in for quality time together or gather with your friends for an intimate dinner, our restaurant is the perfect place for you with a superior level of service, spirited atmosphere, and high quality foods".

And to top it all off...you soon came to our table and stated that you could not accept our gift certificate because of it being a holiday??? My husband pointed out that it did not state this on our certificate or anywhere in the restaurant. You replied "we have no control over the certificates you win from the radio station and you were lucky to get a table here tonight. If you HAD a gift card that would be different."

Hmmmm...let me see here....you are the owner?? Correct? Sounds like you do have control....so much that I would call you a control freak! I sat there with a blank look on my face noticing the empty tables around us at that time. Apparently, because I had actually won something...I was like gum on the bottom of your shoe.

My husband calmly told you to cancel our order.

"Sir, I am sorry you feel that way. You are lucky to even get a table".

I think that was when my normally cool as a cucumber husband replied...
"Just cancel our order and you can have your table back for some else to use...since we were so lucky to occupy this one".

We were getting our coats on when you came back a few seconds later and said "If your order has been started I will make an exception."

GASP You mean you have control after all??

"I am sorry, we will accept your certificate tonight. Your order has been started".

We should of told you to stick it up your A$$ and left. We stayed....I still don't know why we did. Maybe because our oldest was on the verge of tears saying he was hungry and wanted to stay...maybe it was because at this point we needed to eat to make it to the 7:30 show.

Our bill was well over $50.00.

My husband and I have never felt so humiliated. I have not been looked down like that by anyone. I am ashamed that I let you make me feel like I was gum on the bottom of your shoe. The tone and sarcasm of your voice lingers, yet despite your attempts I am happy to say we enjoyed the rest of our evening.

We left. I saw other children in there as well. It is nice to know that others celebrate the New Year as a family too. I suggest you try that Mrs. Brick City Grille. It could help melt that icy stone face facade you have. It is a suggestion...afterall what does a former seasoned manager of a one million net restaurant know.

Most Sincerely,
The "Annoying" gum on the bottom of your shoe


Kim said...

Seriously,this post made me mad... how RUDE.. there are some ugly people in this world.. ugh..

I truly hope you never return again.. what a disgusting way to run a business..

Anonymous said...

I hate restaurants that claim to want your business and treat you like that. I will not be going there. Thanks for the warning!

Jill said...

We live in the upstate and will cross that one off our list. How rude! I can't believe Mrs. BCG said how lucky you were.

BTW- love your blog!

GrandmaKathleen said...

So sorry to hear that you had such a back experience with that Grill.
It does not make sense that they would not honor your certifcate.

They probably felt they would lose your business and a good order since it was over the certicate amount if they did not reconsider and say you could use it.
Glad it did not spoil the rest of your evening.
The Wizard of Oz performanace sounded fabulous.

Kelly said...

That was so mean, especially to do it in front of your children. She did not handle the situation right. I'll definitely stay away from there!

viapersec said...

yes I've done extensive business with bcg, they won themselves an awful rep down in anderson and have a history of not honoring thier comitments.interesting you noticed the control freak issue right off, quite right!their employe's should know the staff in anderson was not payed for their last week of work , so if biz goes south(expect to be sol!)Glad to see the wiz helped you end the evening on a great note, a shame your kids had to witness such bad behavior.

Samantha said...

I did not like the service at this restaurant either. I think I know who you were talking about (the owner) She was trying to smooth things over with our friend who waited almost an hour for his food and she came across "fake" and really didn't seem to care.

Anonymous said...

just to let you know, brick city has been sold to a very nice family who moved down from michigan.their working very hard to improve things and i wish them well, it's a tough economy to be trying to repair a damaged rep!


Anonymous said...

Just saw tonight that BCG is under new management.

For about a year before the Greenville restaurant opened, my husband and I ate at the BCG in Anderson at least 2-3 times a week. The service was always superb and the food was to die for.

About the time Greenville opened, we noticed Anderson's service was declining. Thought maybe they were spread a bit too thin, they seemed to always be busy.

The end for us came when we hosted family from out of town at our "favorite restaurant." They had been hearing about this place for a year and were excited to finally visit it.

It was a disaster! We had food problems, service problems, attitude problems. It was hard to believe we were in BCG.

We complained to the owner and she apologized but didn't really seem concerned. I mean regular customers were telling her they were embarrassed in front of their family and her solution was to offer free dessert. OK, so we ordered desserts and then discovered the offer was for ONE free dessert. This for a party of 7, two of whom were unable to eat their entrees and with us having explained that we ate there 2-3 times a week and were completely embarrassed by this experience with our family.

We never returned and never went to Greenville either.

We speculated the difference was probably the manager who I think was supposed to open the Greenville restaurant but disappeared around the time it opened. We were never able to find out where he went but if we ever do, we will definitely go there. This guy knew how to run a restaurant and take care of customers.

The owner was clearly short sighted. Penny wise and pound foolish come to mind.